Header Ads Widget

Recognition of children with intellectual disabilities

 Department of School Education and Literacy (DoSE&L) runs SamagraShiksha Scheme from Class I to XII. It has a component called Inclusive Education (IE) for Children with Special Needs(CWSN). Under this Component, children with special needs are mainstreamed in regular schools in an inclusive manner. The CWSN being addressed under IE component covers all 21 categories of disabilities prescribed under RPwD Act-2016 which includes intellectual disability, Down syndrome and developmental delay. Under IE component, the support for CWSN is provided at two levels:

  1. Activities under Student Oriented Component (SoC)
  2. Resource Support (Special Educators)


Under Student Oriented Component, all States and UTs are provided financial assistance to   Government and Government aided schools for various categories which includes development of teaching aids, teaching learning materials(TLMs), aids and appliances, Braille stationery materials, identification and assessment camps, assistive devices, aids and equipments, corrective surgeries, environment building programme, transportation, escorts, scribers, sports events and exposure visits etc.

In order to ensure quality of education of CWSN, qualified and trained special educators are provided who work in an iterant mode and provide services in all the schools alongwith the general teachers to address the diverse and specific need of Children with Special Needs(CWSN). These provisions have also been included in the National Education policy 2020.

Post a Comment