Freedom fighters of India

On 15th August 1947, India got its independence. India’s freedom movement was against the British. India got its independence through many struggles and scarifies. Freedom fighters have the main role in India’s independence. In this blog, we are going to see some of the freedom fighters of India.

Freedom fighters of India

  1. Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel

Vallabhbhai Jhaverbhai Patel was born in 1875, he is a very brave man from a very young age. He earned the tittle Sardar after his heroic contribution in BardoliSatyagrah. Originally his profession was lawyer, but he left his profession and joined freedom movement to represent against British. He is also called the ‘Iron man of India’. After the independence of India, he became deputy PM of India.

2. Jawaharlal Nehru

Jawaharlal Nehru was born on 14 November, 1889. He is the only son of his father and mother. He served as the first Prime Minister of India. His passion for India’s independence influenced many people. He is considered one of the greatest statesmen in India. He joined freedom struggle, he became popular as India’s freedom fighter. His birthday is celebrated as Children’s day in India.

3. Mahatma Gandhi

Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi was born on 2nd October he was raised in a Hindu family in Gujarat, 1869. He studied Law in London and went to South Africa to practice. He was entitled the ‘Father of Nation’ of India. After 21 years living in South Africa, he returned to India in 1915, when he was 45 years old. Gandhi ji led many non violent national campaigns for easing poverty, ending untouchability, expanding women rights, and Swaraj. He started Dandi Salt March against the British for imposing salt tax. He started Quit India Movement for British to leave India and many more. He has done many hunger strikes to stop religious fights.

4. Lal Bahadur Sastry

Lal bahadur Sastry was born on 2nd October, 1902. He is a silent freedom fighter. He was participated in many freedom movements such as Quit India movement, Salt Satyagraha Movement, Civil Disobedience movement etc led by Mahatma Gandhi. He served as the Home Minister of India and later as a Prime Minister in 1964. He received the tittle ‘Shastri’ after he completed his education at Kashi Vidyapeeth.

5. Rani Lakshmi Bai

Rani Lakshmi bai was born on 19 November, 1828, Varanasi. She is the queen of Jhansi, She is an important member in 1857 revolution. She became the symbol of resistance to the British raj for Indians. She is the wife of Maharaja Gangadhar Rao. After the dealth of Maharaja Gangadhar Rao, she defended her kingdom jhansi from British force invading it.

6. Bhagat Singh

Bhagat Singh was born on 28th September, 1907 in Banga(Present Pakistan).He was born and raised in a Sikh family of freedom fighters in Punjab. He is a famous revolutionary in India’s independence movement. He joined Non-cooperation movement in 1921 led by Gandhi ji. Chauri Chaura Incident changed him and makes him extreme in his fight against British.

7. Begum Hazrat Mahal

Begum Hazrat mahal was born on 1820, Faizabad. She worked with leaders like NanaSaheb and maulavi. She has participated in 1857 revolution. She single handed defended lucknow from leading troops. She also fought many wars for nepal.

That’s all from my side. I hope you like it.

Post a Comment